NVidia launches GeForce GTX Titan graphics card

NVidia today announced the launch of the GeForce GTX Titan, a graphics card firmly targeted at gamers with money to burn. With 2668 CUDA cores spread over 14 Streaming Multiprocessors (SMX), it has 75% more processing power than NVidia's previous high-end single GPU desktop graphics card, the GTX 680. It also has 6 GB GDDR5 memory, more than any other single GPU card.

With the shaders clocked at 837 MHz, boosting to 876 MHz when conditions permit, the Titan offers 4.5 TFLOPS of single-precision processing power and approx 1.3 TFLOPS of double precision. Its 224 texture units offer a texture throughput of 187.5 Gigatexels/s, and 48 ROPs offer a pixel throughput of 46.9 Gigapixels/s. These numbers make it the most powerful consumer grade single-GPU graphics card currently available.

The 6 GB onboard memory is clocked at 6008 MHz effective, and has a 384-bit data path, giving a bandwidth of 288.4 GB/s. This puts it on a par with AMD's Radeon 7970 for memory throughput, and it is 50% better than the GTX 680. As with other Kepler based cards, the GTX Titan uses a PCI-E 3.0 interface.

The above specs all fit in a 7.1 billion transistor package. The reference design has 4 graphics outputs - 2 x Dual-Link DVI-I, 1 x HDMI and 1 x DisplayPort 1.2. It requires a 6-pin and an 8-pin power connectors, with a TDP of a mere 250W. The GTX 680 has a TDP of 195W, so these figures mean the Titan is more power efficient than their previous flagship single-GPU offering.

The GeForce GTX Titan will be available form a number of graphics cards manufacturers, including ASUS, Colorful, EVGA, Galaxy, Gigabyte, INNO 3D, MSI, Palit and Zotac, at expected retail prices starting from $999.

Related News (newer articles):

Related News (older articles):

GPU Specifications:

There is 1 comment posted


2013-02-20 21:02:32
Posted by: smithy

Sapphire do a 6GB Toxic-X and 6GB Vapor-X 7970 editions, both with only one GPU but 6GB memory

Terms and Conditions · Privacy Policy · Contact Us (c) Copyright 2003 - 2010 Gennadiy Shvets